FAIRWAY

Fountain Plaza

190 Ryland Street, San Jose, CA 95110

Property Summary

Located in the heart of San Jose’s Japantown, this four-story apartment community offers a variety of studio, one, two, and three-bedroom floor plans. Residents have access to shared amenities including a 24-hour fitness center, a clubhouse, a business center, and a resort-style pool and spa. Select homes feature modern finishes such as quartz countertops and stainless steel appliances, along with in-unit washers and dryers. The property is positioned near the VTA Light Rail, providing convenient transit options, and is within walking distance of local markets and various dining options.

Three things to know

Required fees add $2/mo

Pest control $2/mo. Opt-in extras like pet rent or parking are separate.

Source · Apartments.com · checked Sep 22, 2026

cats and dogs allowed

Cats: cost not disclosed. Dogs: cost not disclosed.

Source · Apartments.com · checked Sep 22, 2026

Parking is charged separately

The listed monthly charge is $100/mo on top of rent.

Source · Apartments.com · checked Sep 22, 2026

Available units

Checked yesterday

  • 1 bd · 1 ba · 634 ft² · Unit 5311
    Available Nov 2
    $2,824/mo
  • Studio · 1 ba · 582 ft² · Unit 3124
    Available Now
    $2,843/mo
  • 1 bd · 1 ba · 634 ft² · Unit 3316
    Available Nov 28
    $2,872/mo
  • 1 bd · 1 ba · 634 ft² · Unit 5121
    Available Nov 2
    $2,882/mo
  • 1 bd · 1 ba · 634 ft² · Unit 3416
    Available Oct 26
    $2,942/mo
  • 1 bd · 1 ba · 748 ft² · Unit 3331
    Available Oct 7
    $2,992/mo
  • 1 bd · 1 ba · 748 ft² · Unit 1310
    Available Now
    $3,007/mo
  • 1 bd · 1 ba · 748 ft² · Unit 1209
    Available Oct 20
    $3,015/mo

How the rent compares

This building, studio$2,843
Within 3 mi median$2,710

Source · 147 active studio units · Within 3 mi · 45-day window · computed Sep 24, 2026

Renter facts, criterion by criterion

No overall grade — each row reflects only the fact and source shown.

Rent comparisonAverage

Within 5% of the studio median within 3 mi

Source · 147 active studio units · Within 3 mi · 45-day window · computed Sep 24, 2026

Transit accessStrong

0.3 mi straight-line distance to Japantown/Ayer Station

Source · Transit map coordinates · not a routed trip

Building ageFact

Built in 2004

Source · Apartments.com · checked Sep 22, 2026

ParkingExtra cost

Priced separately at $100/mo

Source · Apartments.com · checked Sep 22, 2026

Amenities

  • Fitness Center
  • Pool

Policies & Fees

Pet Policy
Dogs✓ Allowed
Cats✓ Allowed

Source · Apartments.com · checked Sep 22, 2026

Fees & Deposits
Monthly fees
Storage$100/mo
Garage parking$100/mo
Pest control$2/mo

Source · Apartments.com · checked Sep 22, 2026

Reviews

Review Summary
  • Residents love the friendly staff, convenient location, and well-maintained property.
  • However, several residents report serious issues, including security concerns, unprofessional application processes, and problems with unit condition.
  • One resident is still awaiting a deposit refund months after not moving in.
  • 3.8 stars across 303 reviews.
M
Madison A
2 weeks ago
Google
Response to the reply from the "Owner": Firstly, you are not actually the owner you are the just the PM company so that is misleading. You provided me with the same phone number I already use to inter...
K
Kenny Nguyen
in the last week
Google
Avoid the Loft at Fountain Plaza at all costs. My experience with their "Resident Experience" team has been a complete nightmare from the start. The Application Mess: The process was incredibly unpro...

What's Around

  • Transit
    Japantown/Ayer Station · 0.3 mi straight-line
  • Groceries
    The Source Zero · 0.3 mi
  • Dining
    434 restaurants & cafés within 1 mi
  • Parks
    Ryland Park · 0.1 mi
  • University
    San Jose State University · 1.0 mi

Nearby Schools

Public and charter schools whose attendance zones include this property.

Questions renters ask about this building

Is parking included in the rent?

No — the fee schedule lists parking separately at $100/mo.

Source · Apartments.com · checked Sep 22, 2026

Are pets allowed, and what do they cost?

The listing says cats are allowed; cat costs were not disclosed; dogs are allowed; dog costs were not disclosed.

Source · Apartments.com · checked Sep 22, 2026

What extra monthly fees should I budget for?

The listing totals $2/mo in required fees (pest control), before opt-ins like pet rent or parking.

Source · Apartments.com · checked Sep 22, 2026

How close is the nearest rail station?

Japantown/Ayer Station is 0.3 mi away by straight-line distance; this is not a routed walking estimate.

Source · Transit map coordinates

Find similar